Academy of Country Music Awards 2014

The Academy of Country Music Awards took place last night in Las Vegas. There were performances from some of country’s brightest stars, and the winners, both fan voted, and chosen by the academy, were well received. George Strait rightfully won the prestigious entertainer of the year award, as he did at the CMAs last year. His final tour has been the highlight of the country calendar for the best part of the year, and this fan voted award was a sign of respect from his fans.

Miranda Lambert won the female vocalist of the year for the fifth year running, and she definitely deserved the award, but one would expect that next year, when she is not so much a ‘newcomer’, Kacey Musgraves will be her competition. Musgraves did win album of the year, her songwriting prowess a clear hit with country critics. The awards were not overly surprising, as you could see the rationale behind each choice – these artists are at the very forefront of modern country music.

The performances began with The Band Perry, with the energetic performance of Chainsaw set the tone of the evening, this was a celebration. George Strait played both solo, and with Miranda Lambert, a wonderful tribute to Merle Haggard with a rendition of I’m a Lonesome Fugitive and The Bottle Let Me Down. Even Faith Hill made an appearance alongside Tim McGraw. Brad Paisley took the opportunity to reveal his latest single, Riverbank, a perfect taster of new music to follow up the brilliant Wheelhouse. This was country’s night, with a little bit of Vegas, of course.
Read the full list of award winners below.

Entertainer of the Year

George Strait (WINNER)

Luke Bryan

Miranda Lambert

Blake Shelton

Taylor Swift

Album of the Year

Same Trailer Different Park — Kacey Musgraves (WINNER)

Based on a True Story — Blake Shelton

Crash My Party — Luke Bryan

Here’s to the Good Time — Florida Georgia Line

Two Lanes of Freedom — Tim McGraw

Vocal Group of the Year

The Band Perry (WINNER)

Eli Young Band

Lady Antebellum

Little Big Town

Zac Brown Band

Female Vocalist of the Year

Miranda Lambert (WINNER)

Sheryl Crow

Kacey Musgraves

Taylor Swift

Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist of the Year

Jason Aldean (WINNER)

Lee Brice

Luke Bryan

Blake Shelton

Keith Urban

Song of the Year

“I Drive Your Truck” — Lee Brice (WINNER)

“Every Storm (Runs Out of Rain)” — Gary Allen

“Mama’s Broken Heart” — Miranda Lambert

“Mine Would Be You” — Blake Shelton

“Wagon Wheel” — Darius Rucker Featuring Lady Antebellum

Single Record of the Year

“Mama’s Broken Heart” — Miranda Lambert (WINNER)

“Cruise” — Florida Georgia Line

“Highway Don’t Care” — Tim McGraw Featuring Taylor Swift & Keith Urban

“I Drive Your Truck” — Lee Brice

“Wagon Wheel” — Darius Rucker Featuring Lady Antebellum

New Artist of the Year

Justin Moore (WINNER)

Brett Eldredge

Kip Moore

Vocal Duo of the Year

Florida Georgia Line (WINNER)

Big & Rich

Dan + Shay

Love and Theft

Thompson Square

Video of the Year

“Highway Don’t Care” — Tim McGraw Featuring Taylor Swift & Keith Urban (WINNER)

“Better Dig Two” — The Band Perry

“Blowin’ Smoke” — Kacey Musgraves

“I Drive Your Truck” — Lee Brice

“Mama’s Broken Heart” — Miranda Lambert

“Two Black Cadillacs” — Carrie Underwood

Vocal Event of the Year

“We Were Us” — Keith Urban And Miranda Lambert (WINNER)

“Boys ‘Round Here” — Blake Shelton Featuring Pistol Annies & Friends

“Cruise (Remix)” — Florida Georgia Line Featuring Nelly

“Highway Don’t Care” — Tim McGraw Featuring Taylor Swift & Keith Urban

“Wagon Wheel” — Darius Rucker Featuring Lady Antebellum

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s